#MicroblogMondays: Shark Teeth

Last week, we discovered Daniel has shark teeth. That’s what it is called when your permanent teeth come in before you lose your baby teeth, giving you a double row of teeth. Two of his lower front teeth are almost completely in, but his baby teeth show no sign of being ready to come out.

We were rather shocked to see the new teeth and a little freaked out, especially since the baby teeth are still firmly in place. Fortunately my cousin, a dental hygienist, looked at them over the weekend and said it would be fine to wait because the new teeth had plenty of room.

I guess I shouldn’t have been very surprised by the appearance of the shark teeth given our family’s dental history. All four of Daniel’s 6-year molars came in months ago. I myself was a precocious teether: a tooth popped through at 1 week old and the dentist pulled it when I was 6 weeks old. I also have 4 molars without enamel.

Parenting: never a dull moment.

IMG_7304.PNG

3 comments

  1. I have never heard of such a thing! I had to look at some gooogle images. I hope those baby teeth come out on their own and everything gets sorted out naturally. Dental work can be super sucky and expensive.
    I have a crazy dental history too…when my two front teeth didn’t come in I had to get windows cut in my gums and have braces to pull them down. Fifth grade wasn’t a pretty year.

  2. I’ve never heard of this! With the first line, I was imagining that your son has somehow been wrestling sharks, taking their teeth, has built up a collection, and yet you never knew 🙂

  3. OMG. This just made me remember my brother had an adult tooth growing into the roof of his mouth that moved forward. *shudder*

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day