#MicroblogMondays: Thirteen Years

 

Favor from our wedding

Today Jimmy and I celebrate our 13th anniversary. I joke that I was a child bride, but I was a decent 24 and Jimmy was 25.  We had been engaged for almost 2  years by the time we got married, but our wedding occurred three months after September 11 and I felt nervous about everything.  Jimmy jokes (it isn’t really a joke) that I almost broke his hand during the ceremony because I was gripping it so tightly. I was a much more anxious person overall at that time.

It has been a good 13 years, but it feels like 13 years. That sounds grim, but it isn’t. We’ve been through many ups and downs in that 13 years, but we’ve faced them together, inch by inch and mile by mile.  We’ve invested time and most importantly, ourselves, and I’m proud of that 13 years. I don’t think we had any inkling of what our lives would be like over the next 13 years when we plied our troth at half-past four on December 1, 2001, but there is no one I’d rather be on this journey with.  Here’s to many, many more anniversaries.

 

IMG_7304

 

9 comments

  1. Happy Anniversary! I’m a nostalgia junkie so I love how anniversaries bring back memories, even very emotionally layered ones, the good the bad and the ugly. Best wishes for another 50 🙂

  2. Happy anniversary! This year I hit the milestone where I’ve now been with Q. for more than a third of my life. I like building that foundation, that shared history.

    I hope you got to celebrate!

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

