#MicroblogMondays: MC Daniel

Daniel and I listen to music on the way to school every morning because Daniel is not a fan of “the talk” as he refers to NPR, etc. My compromise is that we will listen to channels I like, so that means Lithium (90s alternative), the 80s and 90s channels.

It’s led us to have some interesting conversations: “Mommy, what’s this song about?” when Digital Underground’s “The Humpty Dance” came on (alas I wasn’t quick enough to tell him it was about Humpty Dumpty, stuttering something about it being about dancing). And telling me he really likes Ben Folds Five’s “Brick,” which is a tad awkward given the subject matter of the song. Daniel seems to prefer the 80s channel, so my work is done.

A few days ago, an Eminem song came on and he asked about it. I told him how Eminem got his name and he giggled. Then he said, “You can call me Skittle!”

Touché.

IMG_7304.PNG

6 comments

  1. Love it. And he has good taste, Ben Folds is awesome. My proudest moments are when my kids appreciate the music I loved when I was young. When my 7 year-old asks for Duran Duran, I high-five myself.

    And we also have times when I don’t change the station fast enough and we end up having really awkward conversations. Like that “I’m Sexy and I Know It” song got my daughter to ask what “sexy” means. My answer was something like, “It’s…. a sort of grown-up version of pretty?”

  2. Ooooh… Brick. Awkward. I used to love NPR until the twins got old enough to understand what was being said. THAT led to a lot of awkward conversations.

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

