You Oughta Know…About Me in High School

This time last year I was in the 9th circle of graduate school hell known as writing my Master’s Paper, so I couldn’t participate in Liz’s inaugural Senior Hottie photo extravaganza.  All that madness is over, thankfully, so I am thrilled to be able to participate this time!

Prepare yourself.

Actually, it’s not that bad.  The really fun pictures are tucked away in the garage, and I can’t get to them before the contest ends.

My apologies: our scanner is acting up too, so we had to take pictures of the pictures, so the quality isn’t great.  I think you’ll be able to capture the essence though.

Let’s return to 1995, shall we?  My soul belonged to grunge, but my wardrobe was The Limited.  I hoped someone would feel as much for me as Gavin Rossdale obviously felt for his lady in “Glycerine.”  I roared with Alanis Morrissette on “You Oughta Know.”  I attended a Hole concert and captured a doll part. Anything Pearl Jam or Nirvana was in rotation.  My hair was long, and I was tall and skinny.

I was a theater geek, and this was my costume as Golde in Fiddler on the Roof. Yeah, “Sunrise, Sunset” and all that jazz although now that I think about it, the costume screams “Little Shack on the Russian Prairie.” Small town, small budget.

Senior prom! I went with my friend Abby, and my mother made my dress. Look at how thin I was! Also?  Look at those eyebrows.  Yikes!

Before class, a group of us “smarties” would gather in the library to exchange insults and jokes. Behold me on the far right rocking my Limited slip dress and Mary Janes.

Graduation night family dinner w/ my parents, aunts, uncles and cousins. This is how we do it in NC, y’all. I don’t even remember what we ate, but the sunburn on my face is courtesy of an afternoon at the pool the previous day. Oops. That box?  Contains a kitten given to me as a “gift” by a friend.  My mom was not amused.

Now let’s return to present day.  I’m 17 years older.  I’m 30 pounds heavier. I have to admit I’m not thrilled with either of those.  When I look at pictures of myself now, my eye immediately notices the bags and wrinkles around my eyes.  Getting old sucks.

Instead of slip dresses from The Limited, I wear tweed from Talbots. Apparently I never outgrew the Mary Janes.

Though I didn’t have a boyfriend in high school or do much dating at all, I am humbled by how much love I receive from my little boy.

Instead of taut skin and long hair, I now have wrinkles and a newly-short ‘do

I think my contest category would be “Are you really the same person?

So tell me, what do you think?  And what do you think when you look at high school pictures of yourself?

For more Senior Hottie fun, head over to Liz’s place.

4 comments

  1. You we beautiful then and still are! We pulled out my senior yearbook the other day an Paige laughed her tail off.

  2. I love the Mary Janes. For real. Just consider them to be a “classic” style that survives the years! 🙂

    I totally appreciate your references to Gavin and Alanis! Oh, the music of that time! Ha!

    Thanks so much for joining in #SeniorHottie! I appreciate it. 🙂

  3. This was fun!! And though I wasn’t in high school in ’95, I was rockin’ my mid-twenties with Hole and Nirvana. So angry, love it and stiil do(sirius Lithium fan).

    You are beautiful inside and out. Miss you greatly!

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

