Capture the Everyday: Something I Collect

I’m trying to build a village.  A miniature village that is.  I started collecting Lemax buildings and figures a few years ago.  Perhaps not surprisingly, given my love for Halloween, I have several pieces from the Spookytown collection, but I also collect Christmas pieces.

Houses

I started collecting the Christmas pieces because I like the nostalgia they evoke.  I loved the Department 56 collections that I would see in the mall, but by the time I finally had the space and the money to start my collection, I didn’t like their themes. I bought my Christmas piece in 2003 and my first Halloween one in 2005.

Halloween fair and pumpkin patch

I’m fairly choosy about what piece I buy for each collection.  I try to buy a new piece every year, but sometimes time gets away from me or I don’t see anything I like.

Christmas collection...only a few more weeks until they come out!

Right now I display them simply.  I don’t have an elaborate village scene set up or even have them plugged in.  I’ll get there one day.

Capture the Everyday from Adventuroo
4 comments

  1. I love these little villages and would love to set up a Christmas village but I have no idea where I would display something like this. I love the nostalgia of the Christmas pieces, too.

    Mandi
    Smile and Mama With Me

  2. Those are really cool!! I once went to this really rich girl’s Christmas party and she had a number of similar villages stationed around an enormous Christmas Tree with a working toy train surrounding that villages and the tree. It was AH-mazing.

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

