Blah

J and I are both feeling very “blah” this week and can’t exactly put our fingers on why. I think part of my “blahness” is because I’m having problems with my vision. I have horrible vision and wear contact lenses. A few months ago I had my eye exam and got new contacts and even more exciting, a new pair of glasses. Then my face started to hurt. Eye strain. I finally figured out something was going on with my prescription, and the eye doctor changed my left prescription. A few weeks later I started having aches around my temple and under my eye and even more fun, neck and arm soreness/stiffness. Back to the eye doctor I went and got a new prescription for my right eye. And here we are again, a little over a week later and I’m having slight facial soreness again and worse shoulder and arm soreness.

Argh. I don’t know why it is so difficult this time to get the correct prescription. I’ve worn contacts since I was 12, and I’ve never had this much trouble. In addition to the various aches and soreness, the eye strain makes me feel like I can’t concentrate well and put my thoughts together coherently. I feel all grumbly this week.

J thinks his “blahness” is due to stress. His company has gone through a “merger” with another company, and details about what the merger means for employees are starting to come out. We think he’ll be ok job-wise for about a year, but will he be offered a job with the new company? Will the job be in Charlotte, meaning either we move or no job (and we don’t want to move)? The good news is that we have a little time to prepare. The bad news is that the job market isn’t great.

I also think we’re tired. Not tired in that we haven’t gotten enough sleep but emotionally tired. The last 12 months have been really, really hard and I think we’re scraping the bottom of our energy reserves. Depleted.

I don’t think Daniel is feeling “blah.” He loves playing with his letters and is so happy to see his trains when we get home. He is slowly but surely adapting to preschool, which is a huge relief. No tears at drop-off today though his teacher reported that he cried a bit when they got into his classroom.

Hopefully this “blahness” will go away soon.

You are my sunshine

One comment

  1. Been anti-glasses all my life, since I first had to wear them at age 9. So I understand your desire to avoid getting framed. However, you look lovely in glasses.

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

