#MicroblogMondays 2: Over Pumpkin Spice

In the past few weeks, my FB and Twitter feeds have been inundated w/ mentions of pumpkin spice lattes, pumpkin spice coffee, pumpkin spice vodka (kidding. For now), pumpkin spice cookies, cakes, doughnuts, cronuts. Pumpkin spice everything. And it left me feeling uninspired and slightly nauseous. I chalked it up to summer’s last gasp as the temperature was close to 100 all week: who can think of pumpkin spice under conditions like that?

Then Sunday I was in the grocery store (again!) and passed the new display of seasonal, pumpkin spice-flavored beer and had zero interest or excitement.

It’s disconcerting because as an Autumn worshipper, I have loved pumpkin spice stuff for years. We go to major lengths to find good pumpkin spice coffee. I make pumpkin muffins. I have loved to compare the various pumpkin beers – and I’m not even a beer lover!

Has pumpkin spice jumped the shark? What does this sudden ennui mean and will it extend to Autumn in general? Maybe I’m just anticipating Halloween and pumpkin carving and the smell of the ripe pumpkin as I scoop out the slimy, sticky guts because that’s my job. Kind of hard to enjoy pumpkin with that visceral memory.

IMG_7304.PNG

8 comments

  1. Pumpkin everything is definitely a bit overdone but it is also a cooler weather thing for sure, and if you’re still the throes of a heat wave… pumpkin=yuk.

    FYI: pumpkin pie flavoured vodka does actually exsist… Made by Pinnacle. šŸ™‚

  2. I love pumpkin, or I did. Now just out of the want to push back on the pumpkin obsession, I don’t want any of it. I’m so over PSL and pumpkin beer, etc. Everyone needs to just chillax on the pumpkin.

  3. So funny! I too was wondering why I felt such an aversion to the idea of pumpkin spice items. I have no interest in any of the pumpkin spice products despite having once loved pumpkin bread et al. Maybe it is smelling it too much in the air.

  4. I don’t hate pumpkin spice. But I also don’t love it. However, I am lover of autumn and a believer that seasonal items should stay in the season of which they belong.

  5. I am guilty of the pumpkin spice obsession. I wish I had time to bake because all I can think of is pumpkin stuff. And, I’ve had a pumpkin spice latte every day since Starbucks released them. I’m sorry šŸ˜¦

  6. So funny – I was thinking the pumpkin was out too early this year as well. Autumn is by far my favorite season but not generally for lattes and muffins but more for candy and yes, pumpkin beer (mmmmmmm).
    Now that the cooler temps are (hopefully) here to stay, maybe it can feel a little more like fall.

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day