#MicroblogMondays: the Grocery Store

Today Daniel and I went to the grocery store for the third time in 4 days. Sometimes we don’t have our shit together in our house. Other times I channel the Grateful Dead and mutter, “what a long, strange trip it has been.” In the checkout line, a lady wheeled her cart behind ours and said, “Hi, neighbor.” I greeted her & made small talk. She looked vaguely familiar & referenced Bunco, but I couldn’t place her. Finally, on the way to the car, it hit me. She hosted the last neighborhood Bunco game I attended in January, which was also the first time I met her. She remembered me, but I didn’t remember her. Granted, she had on no makeup, hair pulled back & workout clothes, but she had remembered ME. It turns out the cashier lives in my neighborhood too. It was a little mortifying and I couldn’t help but think, “this is why you have no friends.”

this is part of Mel’s new MicroblogMondays series.

7 comments

  1. Bwaaaah. I’m that person who recognizes everyone yet no one recognizes me. For what it’s worth, it never bothers me that people have no clue who I am. I very much enjoy flying under the radar.

    And I go to the grocery store almost every day. I can’t think of what I want to eat until that day. I am on a first-name basis with everyone in the store and know the details of their life. They’re like a living blog post every day.

  2. I have a full sleeve tattoo and a blonde swatch in my very brunette bangs – STILL people often don’t recognize me from one time to the next! It used to make me wonder how I could look so unique yet be so unmemorable, but now that my own memory isn’t as sharp as I used to be I realize that it’s just because we’re all so busy and preoccupied with the stress of everyday life that there’s not always room for everyone’s faces in the old mental rolodex. 🙂

  3. I am one of those people that is usually lost in my own world/head/thoughts that I just don’t see people when out and about. And if I do see someone I recognize, I don’t always remember names. I’m bad a names. And like you, I would probably remember it only later.

    We go to the store several times a week, we just don’t by food with the knowledge that a lot of it will go bad if we buy more than a couple of days at a time. What a waste!

  4. I love the last line “and this is why I have no friends.” lol. I lamented last night to hubs that I have no friends, no real reason why, just don’t. I guess I’m not a small talk kind of person.

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

