Inauguration 2017

Fuck.

Honestly, I’m not sure what there is to say other than that, but I will try.

I cannot believe – still – that man is president of this country.

I cannot believe that almost all of our family voted for him.

I cannot believe my fellow citizens think he is qualified to lead this country and that his cabinet officials are this bad.

I do believe it, but I wish it weren’t true.

Eight years ago, we watched Barack Obama’s first Inauguration as it snowed in NC and we were also celebrating finding out our baby was a boy. We were so proud of this country and what it had achieved by electing Obama. We felt like we were bringing our son into a more enlightened world.

And now, 7.5 years later, we have no snow – but maybe rain – and we are swearing in a man who at best makes me shake my head and at worst makes me exclaim, “WTF?” and, “we’re doomed.”

It has been a rough season. We heard our little boy tell us his classmates told him that Mexicans would take over our house if Trump wasn’t elected. After Election Day, he told us that he wasn’t surprised about the outcome because another classmate had told him what would happen. D is seven. SEVEN!

I don’t know how to live in this world. Family said over the holidays that surely Trump couldn’t be that bad because they had lived through their president being killed. What could be worse than that????

I keep telling myself that maybe he won’t be that bad. Maybe he is just a blowhard who has been using typical election techniques. Maybe we are making too much of his election.

I hope to God that is true. I cling to people who believe that this is all politics as normal. I hope my perspective is skewed. My fear and belief is that it is not.

I am terrified. Truly. My stomach has been in knots and I worry for our future.

Someone talk me down.

In the meantime, I’ll be doing what I can to keep democracy’s light burning.

9 comments

  1. I’ve got no reassurance for you. I’m marching in NYC tomorrow while 7mo pregnant because my only answer is political resistance. It has never been more important to be an active citizen. I feel a little helpless with these cabinet appointments because our senators are solidly blue, but if you can make a call that might make a difference, I’d urge you to do it.

  2. I’m terrified, too. I’m afraid that today, during the inauguration, there will be violence. Shootings or nuclear war. My mom and sisters are at the March, and I’m afraid something is going to happen to them. It’s hard to imagine anybody thinks this is politics as usual, but I wish they were right.

  3. I wish I could talk you down, but I can’t, because I’m terrified too. I hope that its not as bad as I’m thinking it’ll be. That’s all I’ve got. yes, make those calls. call call call

  4. March, protest, run for office, keeping talking to people in real life, on facebook, on your blog. That is our strength and power. Our voices are loud. For the first time I called my congressman two weeks ago and since then have emailed 3 more times. I plan on going to meet with people and make sure both sides are forced to hear my voice.

  5. I’m right there with you. It’s unbelievable and horrifying and terrifying at the same time. I am scared for my body, my health, my finances. I am scared for my friends and all the women in this country. I am scared for everyone in this country that isn’t filthy rich, even if they did vote for him and bring this shit storm upon themselves while dragging us down with them.

  6. This is a frightening world. But if the past few weeks have taught us anything we will support each other, and we can’t be bullied into submitting because we are afraid. (Don’t get me wrong: I am terrified. And holding you close as we walk forward together.)

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day