What’s So Amazing About Really Deep Thoughts?

I can’t seem to write lately. I couldn’t put something together for National Infertility Awareness Week. I wanted to write something for PAIL’s most recent theme because believe me, I have lots of things to say, but I worked on a post for days and was never able to make it coherent.  I have several half-started posts in draft status. I guess this is what writer’s block looks like?

Maybe it’s that I am incapable of deep thought right now.  My brain seems flighty and moody right now. I have two new books in my iBooks and an honest-to-god tangible book that I checked out from the library on my nightstand, and I can’t bring myself to start them. Instead I waste time on Buzzfeed or Twitter.

I don’t think I’m the only one in my household suffering from Flighty Brain Syndrome. Jimmy and I have given up our weekly declarations that we WILL start Game of Thrones finally. We settle for repeats of space shows (there’s some weird shit in the universe) or even an episode of Starkey’s Monarchy (we’re on Henry II and Beckett). Or an episode of Coupling when we’re particularly brain dead (three words: “Lesbian Spank Inferno.” That episode is gold).

Maybe my brain has been trained to cool off this time of year thanks to 17 years of school on a traditional calendar. Muscle memory and all that.

Today starts Daniel’s last week as a 3-year-old. One week from today he’ll be 4. Mind. Blown (apparently that isn’t difficult right now).  We’re having his first kiddie party next weekend, and I’m thinking about garbage truck cakes and herding sugar-fueled preschoolers.

And we’re going to the beach for a week at the end of June. I think all 3 of us are counting down the days.

Maybe that’s it. Maybe my brain is on vacation already.

 

 

 

3 comments

  1. I think there is nothing amazing about really deep thoughts that isn’t equally amazing about really shallow ones. I think our brain needs both. Back in grad school, I got admonished for reading People magazine at this burrito place once a week. I taught a class on Holocaust ethics, and other professors thought it looked odd to be mixing my Primo Levi with People magazine. But I think our brain needs both: we need to be challenged and we need to let go.

    That said, I’ve been feeling flighty AND I have work to finish, so I’ve started setting the timer in half hour blocks. I make myself focus on something heavy and serious for a half hour, then I watch 5 minutes of a Green Day documentary. Then I go back to the deep thoughts. It’s working thus far, but it’s hard to tell myself to do this rather than just watch the Green Day documentary all the way through.

  2. Brain on vacation – I hear you there. I have quite a few draft posts that I just can’t wrap my head around and finish properly. Maybe next week …

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

