A Lot of Popcorn and a First Movie

Daniel in the movie theater for Frozen

Waiting for the movie to start

I took Daniel to see Frozen, his first movie in a theater, last weekend.  We had been watching full-length movies weekly for several months, and it occurred to me that maybe it was time to brave the movie theater. Sometimes I forget he’s the mature 4.5 year old he is and not the whirling-dervish 3-year-old who traumatized us for a year. Maybe traumatize isn’t a tad harsh, but I would have laughed in your face last year if you had suggested he would sit through a movie 🙂

We had a hard time getting tickets at the theater closest to our house, so we went to the theater at Southpoint in Durham because they had a 10:30 showing.  The movie’s running time is almost 2 hours, and we thought that a later showing would be asking for trouble. Daniel doesn’t nap any longer (sigh), so he can become grumpy as the afternoon goes on.  I bought popcorn for me and M&Ms and chocolate milk for him, and we found seats in the middle of the theater.  I think there were approximately 8 million previews and a Disney animated short before the movie started that left me on edge: don’t they know there are very small children waiting to see this film? Children for whom patience is not a mastered skill yet?

The movie finally started, and it was really good! I might be the only person in the world who feels this way but in general, I’m not a fan of Disney and Pixar movies, so I was worried not only about Daniel’s behavior but also my own LOL. Daniel did beautifully.  He watched attentively and especially loved the snowman.  He even kept himself from eating all of his M&Ms. Actually, he did better than I did because I ate all of my popcorn (I’m a glutton for movie theater popcorn and don’t get me started on how much I love being able to add all the butter I want with the self-serve butter dispensers)!

Daniel said he enjoyed the movie, but it may have meant more to me than it did to him.  Movies were something I shared with my father, and some of my earliest memories are of him taking me to see movies: Bambi, Cujo (my fault – don’t ask), Halloween 3, The Land Before Time, The Goonies…I could keep going. Usually these outings happened on school vacations and were what we would call a “Special Day” with a movie, pizza and bookstore. My father loved popcorn too and having popcorn at a movie was a must.

When I looked forward to having children, continuing this tradition with movies was something I couldn’t wait to do. As Daniel snuggled against me while we watched his first movie in a theater, I was so happy. In a holiday season bound by traditions old and new, it was wonderful to be able to create another wonderful memory and pass along another treasured tradition.

And I got popcorn!

6 comments

  1. I got distracted by your intro–traumatized is exactly the right word here!!

    That sounds perfect. I can’t wait for Abby first theater movie! And I’m the same way about theater popcorn–yum!!

  2. Quite successful, for a regular going to cinema, not to mention the first one. Such a well-behaved little boy!
    This butter on popcorn thing is a matter of habit though, over here we’ve only got salty or sweet popcorn, and only the Americans ask for butter (they don’t get it). I saw once butter popcorn, the microwave-able type, but could not make myself try it. I love butter, used to eat it with a spoon when I was little, but for some reason, on popcorn does not sound right. Therefore, I say it is a matter of habit. I am rambling, I am off to bed.

  3. DC1’s first theater movie was How to Train Your Dragon. DH said he spent half the time with his face buried in DH’s chest because it was scary, but afterward DC1 said he had a great time and wanted to see more movies. 🙂

  4. We were really excited when we took our little guy to his first movie that he actually stayed all the way through for! It meant a lot. I’m glad you enjoyed your experience.

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

