Cuddlebug

I think (maybe?) that I mentioned a week or so ago (or longer? or never?) that our morning routine was proceeding a bit more smoothly than it had been (knocks on all the wooden surfaces). I don’t think it was one thing that did the trick but rather a combination of actions.  First of all, we distilled the morning routine into 3 steps for Daniel, steps that were easy for us to rattle off when we were tired in the morning. Secondly, we introduced a reward in the form of a glow-in-the-dark starfish that he is able to stick on his door to make whatever constellations he desires.

Cuddling. Isn’t cuddling awesome? I noticed’t a big change in the morning drama when Daniel had time to cuddle in Mommy and Daddy’s bed.  That time has now become a requirement of our morning routine, and it’s usually one of the best moments of my day.

Daniel wakes between 6 and 6:20. I usually go to him around 6:30 and cuddle him for a minute before I pick him up and carry him to our room.  I place him on the bed and he curls up with the starfish he brought. He then turns to me and asks, “Mommy, can you cuddle me for a minute?” I happily oblige, showering him with kisses and cuddles.  After too short of a time, it’s time for me to get up and continue what I need to do while Daniel snuggles daddy.

I love those few minutes. Daniel is so energetic that it can be hard to get a good cuddle or hug out of him, so it’s nice to have the ability to get snuggles.  He demands them and forces you to comply, and I am happy to oblige.

He’s a sweet boy.

2 comments

  1. I love cuddling! I have historically put my daughter to bed but now that we have a new baby I can’t always do it. But the one thing I ALWAYS do is go in there and snuggle at the end of the day. That time has evolved into an opportunity for us to talk about the day, tell stories, tickle each other and just be close. It’s definitely one of my favorite parts of the day.

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

