Blogging Daily

Today’s prompt for NaBloPoMo is the following:

Tell us what you’ve learned so far about daily blogging

What I’ve learned is that it is not easy.  What I’ve learned is that just because you have completed the NaBloPoMo challenge successfully two other years, it is no guarantee that you will complete the third one or find it easier to blog.

I always enjoy participating in NaBloPoMo. I participate because I enjoy the challenge of blogging daily for 30 days, and I enjoy finding it easier and easier to blog as the month goes on.  I seldom rely on the supplied prompts, reveling in finding words spewing from my fingers and blog posts practically composing themselves as the days pass by.  Or something like that…perhaps not quite so gushing.

I’ve felt constrained all year when it came to blogging for a variety of reasons, some mundane and some less so.  There were too many times I sat down in front of my laptop and tried to write but felt nothing flow. It felt like I had a clogged drain in my brain (ha! It rhymes!).  I looked forward to participating in my 3rd NaBloPoMo because this year I really needed the exercise, the challenge.

Unfortunately, I still feel blocked. I have a thousand drafts in my folder, posts I’ve started furiously and with a great deal of purpose and passion.  And 3/4 of the way through, the enthusiasm wanes, and I look at what I’ve written and I cringe.  The thoughts don’t meld. The words don’t flow. And worst of all, I’ve lost my enthusiasm for the topic, wondering what in the world I could possibly have to contribute to it.  Each year I usually have a few of those posts, but this year, 2013, it has been really bad. The ennui has been very bad.

My brain works and churns and composes, but my body sighs and gives up, the mood past, the muse long departed.  How do you entice the muse back once she has departed? What is her currency? Food? Wine? Glory? I wish I knew.

Maybe part of my problem is that I never had a chance to get into a groove because I had to go out of town a few days after NaBloPoMo started. Maybe a better blogger would power through. Maybe a better writer would know how to unclog the drain between my brain and my fingers.

I’m all ears or eyes. Share your tricks with me.

5 comments

  1. When we’re hard up, sometimes we look for comments we’ve left on other blogs that can be expanded into posts. We also have a routine–Monday money, Tuesday misc, Wed something we think will generate comments, Fri alternates with ask the grumpies and google questions answered. That forces us to write or finish posts to fit in the slots.

  2. Sometimes I pick the simplest part of my day and expand it somehow. I’ve noticed lately, that the thing I thought was pointless or uninteresting was actually something worth writing about!

  3. I know that I’m getting through because I hardly posted in September and October, and spent the end of October pre-writing some of my posts. Even though I’ve scheduled many posts ahead of time, the truth is that I am still working on my blog every day this month.
    That’s going to change eventually-we will hopefully be closing on a house and moving into it this month. I did so much planning ahead because I know I’ll be without internet and my computer for several days.

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

