Ghosts, Saints and the Next 30 Days

Halloween

Halloween has come and gone and as usual, we were scrambling to get everything ready until the last possible minute. Each year I vow we will have pumpkins carved the weekend before Halloween and what usually happens is that Jimmy is carving them as twilight approaches and I’m bouncing from one foot to the other while I wait for him to finish them before the first Trick-or-Treaters arrive.  This Halloween was especially interesting since the after-school workers at Daniel’s school let him eat FOUR cupcakes in the span of about 1.5 hours.  I was not thrilled. I picked him up an hour early too; I can only imagine how many more cupcakes he would have eaten.  He practically vibrated the entire way home, and I wasn’t the only one bouncing in the kitchen: it was like having a mini Tigger in the house.

This year, Daniel was a ghost for Halloween. We were relieved at his request because last year he wanted to be a cookie or a garbage truck and those costumes were not easy to find off-the-shelf. But a ghost? Great! Along with witches and vampires, ghosts are a traditional part of Halloween. Finding a good costume should be easy.

Not so much. There were sexy ghosts. Ghosts rattling chains. Downton Abbey-like ghosts. Black robes with the Scream mask (unsure how that qualifies as a ghost). And then one lone, happy, hobo-like ghost that was suitable for a child. When Daniel tried it on, we discovered we needed to make alterations. Off went the head. The length was trimmed. The arm holes were weirdly placed, so Jimmy cut new ones.  We bought makeup to create a ghostly face. In retrospect, it might have been easier to buy a sheet and cut out holes for the eyes and mouth.

Finally, Daniel was costumed and ready to bounce out the door with his purple pumpkin.

Halloween ghost

We had a great time and visited around 20 houses. We let him have only one piece of candy since he was still sporting a decent sugar high.  Our neighborhood really gets into holidays and decorating, and it was so much fun to see the extremes some went to.  I keep saying that will be us next year, but the reality is that it likely won’t be except in my dreams.

Halloween candy

All Saints Day

Daniel got to dress up two days in a row because his school is celebrating All Saints Day today. We were told that the kids could dress up as their favorite saint.  I was a bit skeptical and asked one of the moms who has an older child, and she reassured me that the kids do dress up and it is actually a much bigger deal in the older grades.  Since our family has a UK connection, we decided that he could go as St. George.  Oh, the cuteness!  It was a big day for his class because they were going to Mass for the first time. Imagine 16 Pre-K children sitting quietly for an hour. I thought his teacher looked a bit stressed at drop-off this morning!

St. George for All Saints Day

St. George

NaBloPoMo

National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo) kicks off today, and I plan to participate for the third year.  I really need some blogging motivation, so I’m hoping that 30 days of blogging will revive my mojo.  Consider yourself warned and prepare for inanity as I attempt to make it 3 years in a row.

 

NaBloPoMo November 2013

6 comments

  1. Woot! One day into NaBloPoMo (ha ha I just said word that six times fast) and you’re officially on a streak. Maybe I’ll do NaBloPoCommoMo (National Blog Post Comment Month) and comment on every single one of your posts.

    Until you ban me, anyway. 🙂

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

