The Pre-Kindergarten List

I have a post in my drafts folder on which I have worked daily since Tuesday. I have another post I want to write this weekend. Instead, you get this, my “hello, I’m still here” post, which smacks of desperation and hubris.

What is it about summer that makes it difficult not only to post but to form a coherent thought?

I suppose it is OK. In the South, summer seems to suck the lifeblood out of you until all you can do is see to your basic bodily needs.

I went to a gun show today. That will be a separate post. Daniel is amazing and contrary and infuriating and delightful in one 42″, 36 LB package. How we love him, even when he makes our blood boil šŸ˜‰

We received the list of things he needs from the Pre-K he starts later this month, and Jimmy and I are practically shaking at the thought of our baby starting “real” school earlier than we anticipated: large backpack, lunch, uniform, no cuddlies/toys, etc. I think Pre-K will suit him, but I am as nervous about it as if I were the child in the class. I hope he likes his new class. If so, it’s likely he will be with them until 8th grade. I’m trying to keep an open mind. We are flexible, right? And no shame if it doesn’t work out and we need to find a different place, right?

It’s August. We are 75% through the year (Note: OK, so not exactly 75% but close enough!). How did that happen? I was in Michael’s last week and they already had out the Halloween/Autumn displays. I was delighted. But that’s not right. Part of me was thrilled while another part was in shock. Too soon!

It seems like only yesterday we brought a tiny newborn home from the hospital. The next year, we had a little one who could run easily. From then on, every milestone has passed with warp speed.

D is a sweet boy and we love him very much. He has learned so much already and amazes, astounds and confounds us daily. Hopefully he will have a great year in his new school.

Have a great weekend šŸ™‚

5 comments

  1. First of all, it’s only the beginning of August so we’re only 5/12 of the way through the year. That feels significant somehow. šŸ˜‰

    I can’t believe D is going to per-K in the fall! No lovies?! My daughter would die. But then again, she only had one year after this one and she will be in Kindergarten so I guess all that is not that far off. Scary to think.

    I hope the transition to his new school goes well. I’m sure you’ll keep us posted. (Please do!)

    1. I never claimed to be stellar at math LOL. I’m a little nervous how the no-lovie policy will go over too. I’ll let you know – it’s only a few weeks away! Eek!
      !

  2. Hi, have recently discovered your blog, and may I say what a nice little home you’ve got here. šŸ™‚
    In Germany, they do not forbid cuddly toys in pre-k, contrary to what I expected. My eldest is only 3 yo, he moves up to kindergarten from the nursery this September. Technically, it is pre-k, but let’s not fuss with details, since the systems are similar, but not identical. Right, so, they can take a cuddly toy, but they have their own box with stuff (sort of a locker, but in the form of a box :-)), which they have access to all the time, and they keep it there, and take it out only when needed. And during the first two weeks, some needed it a lot, but it peters out in time. I like this approach, it gives the child some sort of control, and it is less brutal. This is how they break the dummy habit as well.
    I too feel like 75% of the year is already gone. This autumn is going to be so busy, it will go twice as fast, I am sure.

    1. Thank you and welcome! I like your kindergarten’s approach to the cuddly. D’s daycare lets them bring a toy or cuddly but has them put it in their bag almost immediately, so D is used to that. I hope that will help the transition.

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

