I Don’t Wear Mascara on Fridays

I don’t. I put on the rest of the make-up I wear for work like I do every other day, but I leave my lashes bare.  I suppose that’s my pathetic attempt at sticking it to the man: Listen up! My lashes will not conform to the beauty standards dictated by a patriarchal society on Fridays.

I think the reason I picked mascara for my rebellion is because I wear contact lenses, and if I don’t wear mascara, I don’t feel like I have to wash my face Friday nights when I’m usually dragging from the weight of a week’s worth of toil. I should wash my face because I’ll wake up feeling gross on Saturday, but not all rebellions are fully thought through.

I don’t think I wear a lot of make-up.  I don’t wear foundation, but I do wear a tinted moisturizer so I can have some color.  I recently started to use BB cream, and I’m still trying to decide how I feel about it. It has a slight fragrance that I don’t like and it takes longer to put on because it highlights every bit of dry skin on my face, and I’m scraping at places around my nose as if I’m scraping a popcorn ceiling. However, once everything isn’t flaking off, the result looks good. I think.  I also wear mineral powder, concealer, blush, eye shadow, the aforementioned mascara (except on Fridays) and lip gloss/lipstick. This regimen has been the same for the last decade although it occurs to me that maybe I should look into what make-up a woman of my age should wear.

I can’t do foundation. I remember watching my mother put on her “face,” foundation, powder, the works and do her hair before we could leave the house, while I felt frustrated that we couldn’t simply get up and go.  I swore I wouldn’t wear make-up like that.

***

This Sunday, Jimmy and I were supposed to head to DC for the Lady Gaga concert.  Yes, Lady Gaga.  Remember, my husband is a Little Monster. Unfortunately, Lady Gaga had to cancel the rest of the tour due to injury, and Jimmy is a sad panda. Instead of trying to piece together an appropriate ensemble for a 35-year-old to wear or making up a tween so other parents at the concert don’t think we’re pedophiles, we’ll be at home, watching our DVD of The Monster Ball Tour over and over, Jimmy clutching his tour t-shirt and me wearing my new Gaga socks. A tear might even be shed.

***

I haven’t updated on my weight loss efforts.  They are going well.  I’ve been low carbing for 7 weeks and have started to notice results in the last 2 weeks. The only thing I’m really craving carb-wise is pizza.  Pizza helped get me into this problem, so I’ll stay strong and experiment with making reduced-carb pizza instead.  Alas, the push up challenge isn’t going as well.  I’ve had a few bad weeks and probably need to start over.

***

I have a few good reads for you:

5 comments

  1. Have you tried the cauliflower pizza crust recipe that’s floating around Pinterest? I haven’t tried it personally but I’ve heard good things.

  2. HA HA! I was just telling B today that my biggest challenge with our new eating habits is my desire for pizza ALL the time. I just can’t shake my need for it.

    I don’t wear much makeup at all – just eyeliner and mascara. This drives my mother crazy, I’m sure, as she’s one of those old ladies that puts a very colorful face on in the morning. I will put on powder, blush, and eye shadow for special occassions. But they need to be really, really special 😉

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

