Commence Shed: Weight

As I mentioned in my last post, my verb for 2013 is “to shed” and one of the things I want to shed is weight.  Shedding that weight begins today.  I’m doing a modified low-carb diet.  I know…you’re probably thinking, “KeAnne, how can a diet of butter and fat be healthy regardless of how much weight you lose? Think of your arteries!”  Relax!  My version of low-carbing cuts out all extraneous carbs: pasta, white rice, bread etc.  I eat plenty of veggies and low-sugar fruits along with meat like chicken or pork.  Yes, I’ll have the occasional steak too.

The good thing (and the bad thing) about low-carbing is that it forces me to be very deliberate about what I eat.  It’s a lot harder to settle for takeout when your options are limited.    I don’t know why low-carbing is my diet of choice, but it works for me.  Maybe it appeals to me to deny myself completely a food group.  I’m sure that if I lived in Medieval times, I’d have been one of those monks that thrived on water and flagellation.

I’m not only making dietary changes but also adding in more exercise.  Daniel and I took a walk on Saturday.  Yes, I acknowledge how silly that sentence must seem:  OMG!  I took a walk!  I swear that I’m not completely slothful.   Daniel has preferred to run since he could walk and for a while, my active little boy refused the stroller. Or maybe I thought it cruel to strap him in so I could take a walk when he wanted to run, run, run.  Unfortunately, he doesn’t exactly want to run in the same direction I am going :-/

On Saturday, I asked Daniel if he’d like to ride in the stroller and go for a walk, and he surprised me by saying yes (maybe I also tricked him by saying we’d try to put one of the cats in the stroller too. We didn’t, I promise. No cats were harmed but he thought the idea was hysterical).  We had a really nice walk around part of the neighborhood, and I hope we can continue to do so every weekend.  I’m even wondering if I need a jogging stroller because our Maclaren, awesome as it is, seems a little unsuited for the lack of sidewalks in our neighborhood (we rough it in Johnston County. No creature comforts for us).

In addition to walking, I had a moment of insanity and joined Brandy in the 100 pushup challenge.  I’m starting at Level 2 and will have homework three times a week.  I’m also eyeing a few classes at a local fitness center.  Believe it or not, I really like working out.  I like brisk walks on a treadmill (preferably while watching Law & Order reruns) and using the weight machines.  I have free weights in my closet so I can do bicep curls.  I have no coordination, so I don’t think you’ll ever see me in a zumba class though. I’m not a runner either.  I’ve thought about Couch to 5K, but  no, I don’t want to run.

My goal is to lose 20 or possibly 30 pounds.  I’ll be happy to start with 10, but I really hope to reach 20.  I think I can.  I’m ready to make some changes and like what I see in the mirror again.

I’m kind of shocked I’m posting about my weight issues and plans to shed it.  Normally it is something I’d keep very private, but I think I need the accountability as well as the cheering and commiseration.  Or maybe it is an indication that my dissatisfaction with my weight has become a major part of who I am right now.

So today I commence Shed: Weight.  Wish me luck, and I look forward to sharing my progress.

How are you doing with your 2013 goals?

13 comments

  1. That’s a great verb KeAnne! A few years back some of my friends and I were talking about how we wanted to lose weight and then we said, “No, we don’t want to lose it, because we could find it again.” “We want to shed it!” Ever since I try to say that I want to shed weight, instead of losing it! 🙂

    Anyway, in case you are interested I am hosting a Winter Blog Hop ironically called “Winter Shed” for bloggers to be accountable to each other on our blogs about how we are doing with our 2013 goals! Would love for you to join in every week or whenever you want/have time! Here’s the link to my intro post about it: http://bereavedandblessed.com/2013/01/winter-shed-2013/

  2. Whoop! Good for you!

    I was doing great until I made a root beer cake for my husband’s birthday tonight. *cue tears* Back on the carrot and hummus wagon again tomorrow …

  3. You can do it!
    And I am currently losing 12 lbs. I’m down 2 in the last week. Stay out of my way, all this exercising and less food makes Laura GRUMPY.

  4. I think this is awesome. Not just the plan, but *posting* about the plan. Saying this out loud makes it more real…and doable! Sticking to a diet with restrictions is a blessing in disguise as far as takeout/grab-n-go options are. Being veggie means I can’t really stop at *any* fast food restaurants, which overall has been a good thing even if it is a pain in the ass sometimes. You can DO IT!!!

  5. I made a big lifestyle change and quit all of my jobs. So far I’m doing great. Though I worry about how long it will be before I get bored. 🙂

    Thanks for posting the push-up challenge. I injured my shoulder last year, and am looking for ways to get back to shape. That seems like a fun one to me.

  6. I think you’re going to feel really, really good in a few months. Definitely cheering in your corner!
    I haven’t made any goals yet… last year I made some “new year” type resolutions on my birthday in March, so I think I might do that again this year, instead of January 1.

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

