Christmas Eve and All is Well

The lamb for tonight’s dinner is sizzling in the oven, delicious scents of garlic and rosemary permeating the kitchen. I’m prepping the rest if the ingredients while the rest of the house sleeps: Jimmy because he finally caught my Frankenvirus AND pink eye; Daniel’s nap a surprise. It’s raining instead of snowing, but it’s chilly. I can’t stand a warm Christmas.

I’m watching History of Christmas programs and practically humming as I chop and peel. The long-absent tree skirt is back home and around the tree. Gifts are finally wrapped and under the tree; Santa is ready for his act tonight too.

My little family of three will celebrate Christmas Eve and Day by ourselves, quietly. There is sugar cookie dough ready to make clumsy cookies for Santa and reindeer food to feed his reindeer. After we eat, we plan to drive around the neighborhood and gawk at the lights before putting the wee one to bed so Santa can visit.

A quiet Christmas, but one spent with the ones I love the most (including the three furry beasties who like to sleep under the tree). May your Christmas be as well.

One comment

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

