More Blather: Post-Thanksgiving Shock Syndrome

Five more posts for NaBloPoMo.  Five.  In the words of one of the most annoying of Daniel’s favorite books: I think I can, I think I can, I think I can.

Isn’t it funny the books that get on our nerves?  I am immune, apparently, to the charms of Goodnight, Moon but Daniel loves it.   Thinking all Eric Carle books were as adorable as The Very Hungry Caterpillar, we bought a few more, including The Grouchy Ladybug which soon made us very grouchy when we had to read it although there was a period in which Daniel was fascinated with the skunk in it and pronounced “skunk” adorably.  That ladybug was a grouchy shrew!  Jamberry, so innocuous and sweet with its odd rhymes, was an early favorite of all of ours.  It made it on to the “Do Not Read” list recently when Daniel had to read it for himself, which meant that every.page.took.forever. I confess that I have hidden books, hoping their absence would go unnoticed.

I feel a little churlish griping about books that Daniel loves and our attempts to subvert the reading of them.  Books are awesome!  I love books!  Of course I love that he loves books.  The reality, however, is that the quest for independence is frustrating for all concerned.  Daniel’s frustrated because he wants to do everything for himself, gosh darn it.  We’re frustrated because we want to enjoy story time without a battle of wills as well as still manage to get him into bed at a decent hour without also wanting to run screaming from the house.  Three-year-olds, man.  They are rough.

***

Last night I was listening to the nightly chat between Daniel and Jimmy.  I swear I heard Daniel say, “Talk to me about Plato” and wondered whether Jimmy would launch into an explanation of the Allegory of the Cave, Plato’s relationship with Socrates and influence on Aristotle, and Aristotle’s tutelage of Alexander the Great.  Western Civilization: the Greco-Roman years was happening down the hall!

Then I realized Daniel had said, “Talk to me about play doh.”  Ohhhhh.  Yeah, just a little different than Plato.  Jimmy went on to discuss the delights offered by the fun factory, leading Daniel to request it for Christmas.

Small children are so funny, though.  It honestly didn’t phase me to think that the same child who flung boogers at the wall and who protested eating his vegetables could turn around and say something intelligent about Plato and his theory of Forms. Why not?

***

Today was my first day back at work after Thanksgiving.  Working at a university, this time of year is usually fairly slow.  I have 14 working days left this year.  It doesn’t sound like much time at all, and I know it will go by both insanely fast and painfully slowly.  2012 has been a frustrating year because I feel like most of it has been spent marching in place, never really making any progress.

I’m unlikely to be able to change that outcome in the next 14 days, so I’ll just focus on tying up loose ends and getting done what I can, trying not to regret how little I feel I’ve accomplished this year.

How was your Monday?  Do you like Plato or do you prefer Aristotle?  What amusing things have your children done lately?

2 comments

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

