Karma, Karma, Karma, Karma Chameleon

I’ve been doing some quick research tonight:

  • Be grateful
  • Act with love
  • Watch your attitude

Or this:

  • Be thankful
  • Change your actions
  • Check your intentions

Or this:

  • Ingest a tonic tonic that includes detoxified iodine and fluid extract of wild cherry bark, stillingia, yellow dock root, poke root, burdock root, as well as syrup made with beet sugar

Sounds yummy

Or this to cleanse the home:

  • Cleaning supplies, candles, rock salt, incense, and Tibetan bells
  • Clean your house, open doors, light candles
  • Sprinkle the rock salt in corners of the rooms
  • Turn off all electrical appliances (that may take a while)
  • Clap through each room
  • Light incense and walk through each room (I personally hate incense)
  • Ring the Tibetan bells in each room (I bet the cats will love that)

Or, for $200, you can have an emergency spell cast for you. This kit is a lot cheaper (do you get what you pay for?). This spell promises some awesome outcomes like feelings of euphoria, appetite for life and a trouble-free existence. You can buy one on eBay!  You can buy anything on eBay!

Yes, I’ve been researching karma cleansing.  Why?  Because we had an unexpected after-hours visit to Daniel’s pediatrician today.  We went in for one issue and left with a prescription for an antibiotic for his BRONCHITIS (!).  The original issue still exists but is likely more of a nuisance than illness (I’m being vague to spare any delicate sensibilities).

In the past week, all three of us have now been on antibiotics.  Daniel gets a day (or more depending on the original ahem issue goes) at home with mommy.  Mommy wonders whether she’ll work any more in 2012.  Daddy has no more sick leave for the year.

I don’t mind at all staying home.  I work for a family-friendly organization, and I can work a bit from home.  I really don’t mind.  It’s more just the OMG WTF??? of it all.  Bronchitis?  Really??

I just…shake my head.  Throw up my hands.  Wonder when we’ll catch a break and start seriously considering whether we should look into one of the karma cleansing rituals or kits. In the meantime, I take comfort that Daniel seems to be full of energy and feeling good even though we’ll be adhering to the BRAT diet for a while.

Because I’m getting pretty tired of feeling like my family is being picked on by the universe.

What do you do when you feel like you have received more than your share of bad luck?

6 comments

  1. Oh, my goodness. I love the header to your comments section.

    I don’t love that I’m currently singing to myself, “Loving would be easy if your colors were like my dreams. Red, gold and green. Red, gold and gree-eeen…”

    I wouldn’t waste money on a karma cleansing kit, by the way. That’s not how karma works. It’s more like… Let’s say that, a long time ago, you ticked off somebody so badly that reparations are required. You never get around to making amends, and several years later, you find yourself in court, being told that you need to pay up. You wouldn’t believe your lawyer if he said, “Nah, dude, just give me $200 and I’ll make all of this disappear,” right? Karma is the same way.

  2. I heard Maya Angelou give an interview about how we as women fall into a spiral of seeing all of the bad circumstances in our lives. She said that someone who was wiser than her (really?) said to write down a list of all of the things for which she could be thankful and focusing on that would lift her up. She said it was always hard to start that list, but once she started, it was hard to stop.
    I try to take that advice when I feel like the universe is beating me up (2012 for instance…) but it’s not always easy. More often I just hunker down and try to avoid the world for a little while.
    Take advantage of that time you have at home, hunker down with your sweet boy!

  3. My only comment here is that day care sucks sucks sucks for germs but then they become cockroaches and barely get sick. You definitely have to pay into the illness bank to get returns on it!

    Still sucks though.

  4. I want a spell cast for me. I had a voodoo kit, but it doesn’t work. 😉

    When I’ve had a run of suck (like now), I go to yoga. Sometimes I cry. I also kickbox. It tends to help. It doesn’t change the situation … only my perspective. 🙂

    xo … thinking of you …

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

