Week in My Life 2012: The Weekend

My little family really needed a calm, quiet weekend after the past few super-busy weeks, and I think we achieved that even if Sunday threw us a curve ball.

Saturday

Saturday was hair cut day.  Daniel’s hair grows really quickly and even though he had a hair cut a few weeks before, he  needed another.  Happily, our stylist was able to fit him in.  Jimmy was going to take him, giving me some time at home by myself.

Pre-hair cut. Note the long bangs. Yes, that’s a Halloween shirt.

After the hair cut and a few lollipops later (if you ask Daniel, he equates hair cuts with lollipops), Jimmy took him to the bounce house down the road.  Unfortunately, every other family had the same idea, and it was packed.  After about 30 minutes, Jimmy decided it was unsafe for Daniel with so many big kids running around unchaperoned and brought him home.

Fun at the bounce house

I had intended to plant flowers, so once they returned, I headed outside to admire the gray, blustery day (thank you, Frankenstorm Sandy!) and pot pansies.

View from my front porch

I even achieved a little seasonal festiveness in time for Halloween.

Just like Martha Stewart amiright?

Daniel enjoyed the gray day too, watching the squirrels run and leaves swirl.

Daniel is really into his trains right now, but we asked him if he wanted to color and he said yes.  I’m amazed at what he can create with his crayons.  When I asked him what the big scribbles were on the right side of his paper, he said, “A big storm.”  Wow.

Petite Picasso? Pollock?

I am not arts & craftsy by any means, but before dinner, we attempted to decorate a pumpkin.

Masterpiece, n’est-ce pas?

Daniel had dragged in his “baby chair” as he calls it from his room and while we were decorating his pumpkin, Lucy decided to observe us more comfortably.  I don’t call her Diva Cat for nothing!

Sunday

Sunday was supposed to be quiet, yet purposeful.  I woke up with a migraine, though, and it rendered me useless for most of the morning.  Jimmy hadn’t slept much at all and had a scratchy throat (joy!), so I let him sleep and treated the migraine with lots of caffeine and water.  Daniel was a trooper and played quietly.  I may have let him watch 2 movies back-to-back. I blame Hurricane Sandy for all of this.

J’ai mal a la tete

Daniel was distracted from his breakfast by Lucy who decided to lurk at his feet in case he dropped anything edible.

A boy and his kitty cat

Daniel loves pumpkin muffins for breakfast, and I had promised him we would make some, so once my headache retreated, we did. He helped by adding the eggs, water, oil, pumpkin and spices.

Does a watched muffin bake?

Then it was time to prep the pumpkins for carving.  Daniel was extremely excited to see Jimmy cut out the tops.

Then it was time for me to scoop out the pumpkin guts.  This task falls to me every year.  I don’t really mind it, but OMG it is gross.  I can’t help but grimace while doing it because the pumpkin coats my hands and dries.  Ewwwww.  Another year with my arm elbow-deep in pumpkin guts!

While I was having quality time with the business end of two pumpkins, Jimmy and Daniel were looking at pictures of family and kitty cats.

We all wanted to nap (at least Jimmy and I did), but I was the only one who did (blame the migraine hangover).  Daniel was wild and bouncing off the walls post “nap.”  We fed him, read stories and got him into bed as soon as possible and within a few minutes, he was sleeping soundly.  Yay!

Then it was time to tackle the Sunday chore of making Daniel’s lunches for Monday-Wednesday.

And with that, I end the Week in My Life series.  I’ve enjoyed it a lot, and it’s been fun to document the various aspects of a week.  It’s been interesting to compare this year to last year as well.  Some things are the same, but there is a lot that is different. This is one of my favorite times of year, and I’ve enjoyed capturing it.  Thanks for reading along!

2 comments

  1. I’ve loved this series. I love the quirky, fun way you tackle your day-to-day. I wish we lived closer: I’d love to hang out with such a fun, witty friend 🙂

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

