Week in My Life 2012: Monday

I am so excited that Melissa from Adventuroo is doing the Week in My Life series again!  I hope to participate every day, and it will be fun (or sobering) to see how life has changed for us since last year.

Mondays are rough in my house, especially since I usually have to wash my hair because I didn’t get it together to wash it on Sunday.  That also means I have to dry my hair.  Combine the shower plus hair drying plus getting ready with having waited until the last possible minute to get out of bed, and I was running late before I started.  Long story short: by the time I remembered it might be fun to document my morning, it was too late.   But here I am, dressed and ready for work!

New shirt!

I have mentioned in recent posts and tweets (ahem) that I’ve been spending a lot of time in meetings at work recently.  Yesterday was no exception as my week started out with a day-long meeting for one of the teams I am on.  From 9:30 – 4:30. With only two breaks.  Laptop and cell phone usage forbidden until break time.  It wasn’t quite as hellacious as it sounds because we have a lively team and a full agenda.  Also, they may be able to stop me from using my iPhone, but they can’t stop me from doodling:

More doodles

After work, I picked up Daniel from day care, where I discovered he had taken a 15 minute nap.  How delightful.  Once we arrived home, I hurried him into the house because it smelled and looked like one of our neighbors was burning every leaf they could get their hands on.  Daniel played trains on his train table, aka the kitchen table (despite the official train table taking up space in our living room) while I cooked dinner.

He loves the crane

I’ll humor you, mommy

Once the wee one was tucked into bed for the 4th time, Jimmy and I settled in to eat sub-par Chinese and watch the debate, occasionally hurling obscenities at the TV.

I’ve got your bayonet right here, Mittens

My cat wasn’t very impressed either.

Ho-hum. I’d rather lick myself

That was our Monday.  Comparing it to last year’s write-up, I notice a few things right away:

  • I still haven’t got it together on Mondays because I whined last year about having to shower too
  • Daniel is so much bigger: no more binky and no more crib. Daniel now has the run of the house while we get ready.
  • Daniel is in daycare this year, and our routine and commute are a lot different. Instead of pajamas, he gets dressed (with a good deal of sturm and drang) to go to daycare.  At night, he refuses to wear footie pajamas anymore, which breaks our heart because oh, the cuteness! As for the commute, we travel back roads now and I find myself listening less to talk radio and more to the songs on my iPhone.  That Ire playlist has been getting a work out.
  • While Juliet remains a favorite of Daniel’s, he really likes taking his stuffed Thomas and Percy with him now instead of Alpha Pig.
4 comments

  1. A 9:30-4:30 meeting? Oy vey! At least you had your new cute shirt to console you. 🙂 I love the doodles. I often find myself near transcribing meetings to keep myself paying attention, although I rarely have to go to them anymore. Maybe I’ll use that trick at PTA meetings next year. My dude loves cranes too! Can’t wait to read more tomorrow.

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

