Elementally Frivolous

And now for something completely frivolous.  I don’t know about you, but I could use some serious frivolity right now.  There’s just a lot going on right now, and I’m struggling to get my arms around it, let alone beat it into submission.

I’ve suddenly become fascinated with chemistry and the periodic table.  Given my propensity to opine about Breaking Bad, it is probably not a surprise what is influencing that interest, especially since the show’s opening uses the elements of the periodic table to spell the actors’ names and the title of the show.

A few weeks ago, I had the urge to search for jewelry inspired by the periodic table.  I wanted a necklace, and I found quite a few options.  Some used the elements to spell out adjectives and occupations.

 

 

How very cute!

 

For the chemistry teacher in your life?

Lady Gaga also turned out to be a popular choice.  Maybe it’s just me, but Lady Gaga + chemistry = a hot mess?

There are a 118 elements in the periodic table, and I toyed with various combinations. Maybe I could spell my initials.  Maybe I could use all of our first initials.  Maybe I could spell our last name.  Either I couldn’t make the spelling work based on the element’s abbreviations or it seemed too cutesy, so I abandoned those ideas and decided to keep it simple.

I settled on “K.”  “K” is the first letter of my middle name, which is also the name I go by.  “K” is also the abbreviation for potassium.  I don’t have any special attachment to potassium (I always had a soft spot for Lithium thanks to my 11th grade infatuation with the Nirvana song). A few facts about potassium: it is very similar chemically to sodium, an element I like a little too much (ok, when combined with chloride). Potassium is also commonly found in the human body and is necessary for life.  It has 19 electrons and an atomic weight of 39.1.  Don’t ask me what any of that means. Low potassium can also cause a “charley horse”, those delightful leg muscle spasms.

So, potassium wasn’t a bad element to choose.  I guess.

Anyway, I love my necklace.  I feel clever wearing it and wonder if anyone will notice the element features on the charm and ask.  If not, that’s ok.  I didn’t buy it for them.

potassium element necklace

Brought to you by the letter “K”

 

Hmm.  I wonder if I could spell Meth?

What silly things make you happy right now?

 

4 comments

  1. I cannot believe this EXISTS and I didn’t know! When I a chemistry teacher, I always thought it was SO RAD that my initials were an element. I know what to ask for for Christmas!

    This made my day!

    Also, potassium is a great metal to be…soft, but reactive. Beautiful coloring, but must be kept in oil as it explodes on contact with water. Easily bonds with halogens… The best!

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

