Lazy Fall Weekend

This weekend was really nice.  I don’t mean to sound so surprised by it, but I’m used to weekend feeling like they are 5 minutes long and Sundays to feel like a sprint to the finish line as we try to cram in laundry, dinner, baths, stories, bedtime, lunch-making, and a smidgen of relaxation before Jimmy and I collapse, unready to face another work week.

Story time with Daddy

This weekend’s pace has felt much slower.  Lethargic, even, and it’s been great.  It may help that after spending three grueling days in class last week, I felt unable to do anything but go slowly this weekend.  We did most of our running around  yesterday, meeting Jimmy’s mother, grandfather, stepfather and brother at IHOP for brunch.

Grandma and Daniel at IHOP. Daniel’s drinking creamer.

Normally I greet Sundays warily due to the fact it is the last day of the weekend AND it is filled with so much to be done from the time I get out of bed until the time I fall back into it.  Today, though, I greeted Sunday wearily.  I woke up bone tired.  I was tired like I had done some sort of strenuous or extremely taxing mental activity yesterday.  I lumbered out of bed this morning, unable to pick up speed.

Daniel was energetic, but he seemed content to play in the kitchen.  The day was gray and cool, the first time it really felt like Autumn.  Instead of finding it grim, I thought it was beautiful.  It added extra weight to our fatigue and the three of us seemed to agree without discussion that it was a perfect day to stay in our pajamas and do very little.   If we were very cunning or flexible, we might not even need to leave the house.

Fireman

Where’s the fire?

And for once, on a Sunday, I felt relaxed.  Calm.  Go-with-the-flow.  Daniel wants to watch 4 Thomas DVDs?  I’m ok with that.  The dishes still aren’t washed?  It’s ok.  The floors aren’t swept? Whatever. We did several loads of laundry (mostly Daniel’s because I bought his Fall wardrobe on Friday).  We placed a few orders online.  Daniel, Jimmy and I played with his cars and trains.  We all cuddled.  I even took a shower and used up all the hot water (that’s not as grand as it sounds; we are having hot water heater issues), something I always intend to do on Sundays but never get to.

Freshly-washed hair and my go-to Fall flannel shirt

I even got to read a lot of NurtureShock this weekend while Jimmy napped.  Daniel himself surprised us by falling asleep late afternoon, just as I was getting ready to get him out of his room from “rest time.”

Daniel’s late afternoon nap may spell trouble for tonight.  Or maybe it won’t.  Maybe some of the peace I’m feeling is the delay in our Sunday routine due to the fact that Daniel’s day care is closed tomorrow, so some of the typical Sunday pressures are absent.  It sort of feels like a semi-holiday for us too.

Or maybe our bodies and psyches needed a quiet day, a day to recharge.  The next several weeks will likely be filled with activities and who knows when we may have a quiet weekend like this again.

***Two Hours Later***

I still didn’t plant the mums, but I did take out my Halloween village.  And Daniel woke up happy and rested after an hour nap.

It’s been a really great day and great weekend. Hopefully the feelings and memories from it will sustain me until we can do it again.

How was your weekend?

Ice cream! And Sprinkles! And Whipped Cream! Sugar High!!!!!

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

