Danielisms

Daniel’s vocabulary continues to grow, and he amazes us or gives us the giggles daily.  I’m learning how to bite my lip and not display my amusement so that nothing inappropriate is reinforced.  But damn, it’s hard not to laugh.  His sentence structure has progressed too, and his statements have become more complex.  It has been impressive to watch how he acquired speech and has moved from words and simple phrases to sentences with subjects, predicates, objects and modifiers.    It is awesome watching this little person become, well, a person before our eyes.

A few of Daniel’s new phrases are scatalogical in nature (I credit day care):

Daniel, gleefully: There’s a poo poo in my butt

Me (biting lip):  Let’s not say butt.  Let’s say bottom or hiney instead.

Daniel: Bottom or hiney or BUTT!  (guffaws)

He’s also become adept at commands:

Daniel:  Mommy, do not point (tickle, kiss, etc) at me.

or

Daniel:  Mommy, you are NOT sad (when I made a face at a sad part in a book)

He’s also renamed himself:

Me:  Doodle Bear (a nickname since he’s been a baby), bring me your plate.

Daniel:  Mommy, do not call me that anymore.  I am Hiro Bear (one of his trains).

Life is never dull with him.  I wonder what he’ll come up with next?!?!

3 comments

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

