Memories Captured: Garbage

Listening intently

Yesterday we braved the chilly air and went outside to play.  We heard a truck coming, and you said, “garbage truck!”  I replied, “No, it’s not a garbage truck,” but when I turned around, I saw that it in fact was a garbage truck.  I grabbed your hand, and we walked to the end of the driveway to watch the garbage truck pick up our neighbor’s garbage. You were enraptured and grinned the entire time.

Sweet Boy, you have taught me so much. When I see the world through your eyes, I see things differently.  You have taught me that garbage and garbage trucks are beautiful because you love them. You’ve also taught me that weeds like dandelions are as beautiful as roses because to you, they are just pretty yellow flowers and not a judgment on our lawn maintenance.

6 comments

  1. I love the picture and your description of the garbage truck event is great. It’s so true how we can experience those little things all over again through our little ones.

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

