Working with Style: Socks

I may find it difficult to add accessories to my work outfits, but I am a sucker for fun socks.  I like to wear cute or funny socks with pants or jeans. My normal work attire is fairly ordinary, so I like to think that I am expressing myself through my socks.  They probably go unnoticed, but it amuses me to wonder what people think when they see them. Does it offer a glimpse into my personality?  Is it unexpected? Is it the foot version of the mullet (business up top but party in the back)?

Maybe they just make me feel good.  My own private joke that puts a smile on my face during the long work day.

I started the work year in 2012 needing new tights, so I had to wear pants exclusively.  Ok, who am I kidding?  It’s also because I hadn’t shaved.  I suspect there’s a symbiotic relationship there.  Why shave if I can’t wear skirts because I don’t have tights and it is 40 degrees? Or rather, why buy tights to wear with skirts because I’m too lazy to shave?  You decide which is truer 🙂

I don't particulary like dogs, yet I own socks with them on them

argyle

More argyle

I've worn these socks so much they are falling apart

Blue, yellow and pink stripes

I also have several pairs of socks for holidays:

Bats for Halloween

Oh, Christmas Tree!

Santa!

These are just a few examples of my socks.  I have many more 🙂

And I also promise I have more than 2 pairs of shoes!

7 comments

  1. Love it. I used to have lots of fun pairs of socks, but now I never wear them. Maybe I’ll take some inspiration from you and get back in the habit. And I’m totally with you on the infrequent-shaving-during-winter thing.

  2. SO MUCH FUN! I do the same thing with socks. I am almost always wearing crazy knee high ones, with prints and stripes and other ridiculousness. I have the same thought train like, even if I’m dressed boring or normal, my socks will BLOW YOUR SOCKS OFF. Awesome.

    Thanks for linking up!

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

