Awesome Coconut Shrimp

 

Yummy shrimp

Note:  This recipe was originally adapted from Southern Living.

Every year I make coconut shrimp for the Christmas celebration with J’s family.  We always have heavy appetizers before we open gifts (it’s really to help us hold the gin gimlets I suspect), and the coconut shrimp have become my addition.  They are so anticipated that I have family members taking the plate from me at the door before they greet me.

This Christmas we moved our gathering from 1pm to 11 am, so that meant I was opening beer (for the shrimp!) and preparing them at 8am.  I also may have almost set my kitchen on fire due to an exploding spoon, but everything was fine.

J and I had coconut shrimp at our reception and it was after our wedding that I started making them, so it is fitting I share this recipe with you in our 10th anniversary year.  It’s a very easy recipe and a show-stopper.  Best of all, I very seldom have leftovers to take home!

Ingredients

  • 1 package tail-on, raw shrimp (you can use fresh shrimp but you must leave the tail on.  Under no circumstances should you use the pre-cooked shrimp because they will make the final result tough. If you use frozen shrimp, which I do, thaw them -duh!)
  • 1 cup beer (I like Yuengling but any beer other than Guinness will work)
  • 1 cup Bisquick
  • 1 cup flour
  • Salt, pepper and red pepper
  • 1 package coconut (I get the biggest to ensure I have enough coconut)
  • Vegetable oil

Directions

  • Thaw shrimp if frozen.  I rinse them in cold water until they are pliable and then dry them in a paper towel
  • Put flour, salt, pepper and red pepper into one bowl
  • Add Bisquick and beer in another bowl and stir until combined
  • Put coconut in another bowl
  • Dredge shrimp in flour
  • Dredge shrimp in beer batter
  • Place shrimp in coconut and cover it, patting the coconut to adhere if necessary
  • Repeat process until all the shrimp are battered
  • Heat oil in a deep skillet or pot (I use a 4 qt pot)
  • Place 4-5 shrimp in oil at a time.  Flip them if necessary but they should become golden in about 2 minutes.
  • Remove shrimp to plate to drain.

 

Shrimp battered and ready for the oil

 

Sauce

I make a citrus-mustard sauce for the shrimp:

  • Orange marmalade
  • Chili sauce
  • Dijon mustard

Feel free to play with the proportions.  I find that about a 1/2 cup of marmalade and a 1/2 cup of mustard with about 1/4 cup of chili sauce works well, but it truly depends on how sweet, citrusy or hot you want the sauce.

 

2 comments

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

