Our Christmas Card

First of all, I want to thank everyone who commented or even simply read Tuesday’s post about Daniel and his preschool problems.  I feel so supported and relieved.  I think everything will be ok, and we’ll continue to work with him so that he is comfortable at his preschool.  If not, we’ll consider other options.

***

Christmas cards are trickling in to our house.  We haven’t received very many this year (14 as of today), but I wonder if everyone else is having a year like we are.  I certainly am not judging affection by the number of cards we receive; it’s just an observation. I’m a notoriously late sender of cards.  No matter how hard I try, it always seems like my cards are arriving in mailboxes a couple of days before Christmas.

Since Daniel was born, we’ve sent photo cards.  Pre-Daniel, I sent cards with hand-written messages.  That was nice but I wonder if they were deciphered since I have horrid handwriting. I feel weird about the photo cards.  On the one hand, I love having family pictures taken and being able to send out a pretty card.  In our circle of friends and family, these cards are normal and as someone who has never felt very  normal, I like the opportunity to pretend to feel normal.

On the other hand, I feel like a fraud.  Decidedly abnormal.  I don’t know why, but I look at the cards I receive from others and agree that they are able to fit into the Norman Rockwell norm.  I always feel like we are shoe-horned into normalcy for these pictures.  I know, I know.  It’s all likely in my head and normality is relative anyway, but still, there is something about the process of having a family picture made and then made to fit a rectangular or square backdrop that makes me feel suffocated. Yeah, I’m weird.  That’s what I’m trying to say 🙂

This year due to time, a desire to save money (because who can ever go to Portrait Innovations and buy only one picture and cards?  It’s a money pit!) and well, mostly time, we decided to do our own cards.  Honestly, I’ve always wanted to do our own cards because I like to make it personal.  Ideally, I’d love to add a creative, funny touch.  Unfortunately, that hasn’t happened in years (we had one legendary card with one of our cats and a beer about 6 years ago).  I pulled together some of our favorite pictures from the last few months and arranged them on a template.  Thanks to the magic of Walgreens, they were ready the next day.  So, yes, the cards are personal but not as good as I’d like.

2011 Holiday Greetings

I hope you all have a wonderful holiday.  I’m off to cook my brains out because that’s what I do during holidays.  Wee One’s big gifts are ready, and we can’t wait to give them to him!  Santa arrives very soon, and we are so excited!

I can’t leave out the pets.  If you have cats, you might enjoy and/or identify with this video.

Merry Christmas.  I hope it’s great for all of you!

One comment

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

