Ten Years

J and I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary today. Wow. Ten years! Feels real now! All kidding aside, it was a special day. When I think about the 24-year-old me, I cringe a bit, which is probably normal. I hadn’t experienced a lot of the things I have now.

J is my soul mate. It sounds cliche to say that, but he is. He knows me & I know him. We want the same things & think the same way.

We had a fairly low-key celebration tonight: champagne & Edible Art’s almond amaretto cake w/ the last of the Thanksgiving leftovers. We will celebrate more this weekend and probably later in the month. Babysitters during the week are still elusive for me, so we’ll save that.

Ten years. Ten years ago today, I walked down the aisle of Meredith Chapel with my father to meet J at the front. We met at Meredith, so it was fitting we married there. After the ceremony, we had our reception at the now-defunct “Warehouse” restaurant in downtown Raleigh.

I can’t wait to show Daniel our wedding pictures and DVD. Maybe he’ll laugh at mommy & daddy or maybe he’ll say we’re sweet.

J, I love you. Happy Anniversary! Many more decades please!

3 comments

  1. We don’t even have video – ours is on cassette tape!

    I hope you guys have a very happy anniversary!! I can’t believe it has already been a decade! I remember when you two started dating…we were living in that huge room with private bathroom (and a possum). I think of you every time I hear Big Poppa 🙂

    Love to you both (and Daniel, too, of course)!

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

