Mini Pizzas and Mini Men

Daniel is becoming such a big boy, and it just shocks me.  He’s not quite 2.5 (December 2), yet he is well over 3 feet.  Add in the extra height from his stool, and he can easily see over the countertops.  We brought his stool into the kitchen recently, and he loves it.  He loves to drag it over to where we are working and watch us and preferably help.  It’s really adorable, and he is so very interested and wants to be a part.  He especially loves to watch us prepare meals.  We are “scrounging” dinner-wise this week in order not to exhaust ourselves for Thanksgiving (we are hosting), and tonight my guys decided to make mini English Muffin pizzas.  Daniel made an awesome sous chef (which he can now say & is also adorable).

Watching daddy put olive oil on the English muffins

Watching daddy put the sauce on the muffins

I can do it! Daniel sprinkling cheese on the pizzas

Ingredients

  • 2 Whole wheat English muffin pizzas halved
  • 1 cup tomato/pizza sauce (we used frozen cubes from our sauce)
  • 1 Cup shredded Mozzarella cheese
  • Olive oil
  • Oregano

Recipe

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • Drizzle olive oil other each muffin half
  • Spoon sauce over each half and spread to the edge
  • Sprinkle with mozzarella cheese
  • Sprinkle with oregano
  • Bake for 8-10 minutes

These little pizzas are ridiculously simple, yet amazingly good.  I feel less guilty about Daniel eating them than pre-packaged pizzas since I know what went into the sauce we made.  And again, so simple!!!  J and I keep saying how we need to get more ingredients (Canadian bacon, olives, artichokes, etc.) and make more “adult” pizzas, but even in this simple form, they are soooooooo good.

I love that Daniel is taking an interest in cooking.  I have always loved to cook (when I was 5, my career goal was to be an artist and a chef – one problem with that is that I have extremely little artistic ability).  In the last few years, J has become very interested in cooking and is a wonderful sous chef.  I like how we are unafraid to tackle making our own sauce, roasting turkeys or making soufflés.  It just feels good to be able to do those things, and I’m glad Daniel is taking an interest.

Do I make mistakes in the kitchen? Oh yes.  Like the omelet I burnt last weekend.  The lamb that was slightly over-cooked a few months ago (still edible and good but a little more well done than it should have been).  Dry cakes.  Ice cream that was not as sweet as it should have been.  I am not a trained chef, but that’s ok.  I like experimenting and am excited that we may be able to do that as a family.

Tell me about your family kitchen.  Do your children take an interest in helping to cook?

One comment

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

