Springing into March

I just galloped down the hall at work. I feel lighter than air. Positively giddy. Why? Because today is the first day of March. No, I don’t have some deep love for March. I typically associate March with the beginning of tornado season for NC and my obsessive sky watching as someone not so fond of storms.

No, I feel so good because it is no longer January or February, two truly terrible months for my family. With the flip of the calendar, some good things have finally started to happen. Maybe the dark cloud is lifting. We’re not out of the woods yet, though. J’s grandmother starts chemo this week for her tumor, but even her diagnosis was not as bad as we originally feared. I am cautiously hoping that maybe the worst is behind us (knocking on wood, throwing salt over my shoulder, crossing my fingers, etc., etc.,).

I am not by nature an optimistic person (I prefer “realist” to “pessimist”), but today I am. Even if that feeling lasts only a short time, I will treasure today and these good feelings.

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

