Catching My Breath

2011 continues to be interesting for my family. One of our kitties is at the vet having a lumpectomy today, but thankfully the doctors have found no more cancer. J’s father is recovering well from his surgery, and his doctors put in a port last week to prepare him for chemo. It turns out that his cancer is technically gastric cancer, not pancreatic cancer, though it is in his pancreas as well. J’s family is understandably scared about what is coming next for his father.

Oh, and that little acquisition of Progress Energy by Duke Energy? For some, it means happy things like potentially lower power bills. For my family it means decidedly unhappy things like a potential layoff for J or having to move to Charlotte. Thankfully, there won’t be any layoffs or major changes until the deal is approved by regulators, and that will take about a year, so we have some time to get our ducks in a row and prepare for what may come. That’s all we can do, right?

Things are very unsettled at my own work as well. My awesome boss left last week, and I don’t think it is a stretch to say we all feel unmoored. We are also facing some major budget cuts with our state funding and a major threat to our federal funding, so yeah, 2011 is going to be an interesting year. Anxious is the word I would use.

But today I’m catching my breath.

You may note that the past few posts haven’t been Daniel-centric. That isn’t part of any grand strategy, but I definitely want to blog more. I need to blog more. And I need an outlet for what’s on my mind and going on in my life, so I’m going to try to do a better job of blogging and express myself a bit more.

Two years ago on Martin Luther King day, we had our big u/s and discovered we were having a boy. And now that little boy runs and climbs and plays with trucks and loves chasing the cats. Getting a hug from him can make even the crappiest January better.

Out of the way, Mommy!

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

