1st Birthday Party – Belated

Birthday Boy enjoying cakeOur little family had a busy weekend last weekend as we celebrated Daniel’s birthday! Yes, yes, technically his birthday was June 2, but we cancelled the original party due to my father’s health situation and only just rescheduled it. Nothing wrong with a first birthday party almost two months late! I feel bad about the delay even though I know that the 1st birthday is more for the parents than the child.

We crammed around 20ish people, children and babies into our house on one of the hottest days of the year. It was supposed to be a simple cookout–hamburgers, hot dogs and fries–but I have a hard time doing simple, so I made three cold salads: BBQ bean salad, summer cous cous salad and fruit salad. I’ve been enjoying the leftovers for days, and Daniel even had some as well!

We invited F, and she and her family came. We hadn’t seen her since December, and she was amazed at how big Daniel had gotten. J and I discussed it and agreed that inviting her was a non-issue. It would be right not to have her there. After all, if it weren’t for her, we wouldn’t be celebrating his 1st birthday. I know it meant a lot to her to be there. She wasn’t able to attend her first surro baby’s birthday party due to it being out of state, and I know that it bothered her. Since she lives only 45 minutes away, it seemed churlish not to invite her, but really, we wanted her there.

I think the party went well despite the horrendous heat. We were honored that so many friends and family chose to celebrate Daniel’s birthday with us. Despite having no nap, Daniel did pretty well too–especially when it came time for the cake! He had SO much fun destroying his “smash” cake (and if you are looking for a baker, I highly recommend Tartlette Treats!).

Only 10 months to go until he turns 2 and we celebrate again!

Eek.

Main cake. It was inspired by his nursery.


Daniel's Smash Cake. It was huge!


Smash Cake: The Aftermath

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

