Where the Wild Thing Is

Oh, that’s right. I have a blog that needs updating! I truly have intended to post many times, but we’ve just been so busy. Daniel keeps us on our toes!

Daniel is 7.5 months old as of Saturday. It is hard for me to wrap my mind around that. It seems like only yesterday we brought home our tiny boy, and now he is anything but tiny! His first birthday is the next significant milestone, and that stuns me. Where has the time gone?

He is very active. We feel comfortable declaring that he is crawling after watching him consistently crawl more often than not. Saturday he seriously freaked us out by deciding that the kitchen was too confining and leaving for the greener pastures of the living room. There is no stopping him now, and I suddenly perceive our house as a death trap with nasty corners everywhere! We also spend a great deal of time keeping him away from the cats’ water bowl (I’ve cleaned up spilled water several times) and more importantly from the cats themselves. Daniel LOVES the kitties. He grins and shrieks when he sees them. The feeling isn’t quite mutual. They let him pet them with suitable chaperonage but usually flee when he heads towards them. The kitties love his toys though. Hopefully they consider it a fair trade šŸ™‚

Daniel can also sit up unassisted. It is amazing because less than 2 weeks ago he was propping himself up on one cheek, and now he can do it on his own. He also easily pivots on one hand to and from a crawling position. We’ve also noticed him starting to pull up on a few things. Eek!

He amuses us. We love making him laugh and getting the belly laugh. He truly is a happy baby and smiles quite a bit. I think we are still stunned and overwhelmed by his energy (frankly I’m jealous. I wish I had 1% of his energy!).

We started him on solids and to my surprise, I am making his food. I really didn’t think I would, but well, it is so easy to do. I make up and freeze a big batch of various fruits and veggies over the weekend. I’ve never used my blender so much in the 8 years I’ve had it, and I had to replace a pot due to steaming carelessness. oops. I’m proud to say that Daniel eats peas, green beans, squash, carrots, sweet potatoes, peaches, apples, bananas and pears…more fruits and veggies than J eats!!

We had a truly wonderful Christmas. It really was perfect. J and I thoroughly enjoyed being Santa and can’t wait to do it again. The look of joy and wonder on Daniel’s face when he saw some of his gifts was priceless. I was really surprised because I suppose I didn’t expect much of a reaction his first Christmas.

We’ve had some ups and downs with sleeping. December was a pretty rough month because we went from pretty much sleeping through the night from 10pm-5amish to Daniel waking up every couple of hours. It was brutal. He would wake up shrieking and was definitely hungry. I think he was going through a growth spurt plus some teething stuff. That was right around the time he started trying to crawl. Thankfully, his sleeping has improved. We slowly went to waking every 3 hours (tolerable) to his going down at 8 for about 4 hours and then another 4-5 hour stretch. Definitely doable. I think hunger is a factor in the night waking. He plays really hard during the day and it can be hard to focus him on his bottle. He eats quickly at night and goes back to sleep almost immediately. I must confess that he is still sleeping in our room. I thought we were going to move him into his room over the holidays, but there are a few things we need to do to get ready. And honestly, when he wakes up at 3am, it’s a heck of a lot easier to barely have to get out of bed than to shuffle down the hall. Excuses, excuses… we will move him soon. I think. Before he is 20 definitely!

So far, he has 2 bottom teeth and two top teeth threatening to come through any minute now. He is also fitting easily into 9m clothing. It was quite a shock to me when I realized that not only had he outgrown his 6m outfits practically overnight but also that his 9m outfits weren’t as loose on him as I would have expected. Ack!

So I guess life is pretty much what you’d expect for life with a baby. We are pretty tired but that is normal. I’ve managed to read all of two books in the last few months and find it difficult to keep up with my weekly magazines. We are dreading the tv shows we follow resuming this month but thankfully we have the DVR! And I am so glad I let J talk me into withdrawing from grad school for the entire year instead of only the fall semester. I have no idea how I would begin to keep up with the coursework for one course right now.

Sorry for the long post! It had been a while, and I had a lot to write. Each day presents its own challenge, but we are having fun šŸ™‚ Daniel is wonderful.

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

