Then and Now Part 2 or “El Guapo”

Three embryos we transferred

Three embryos we transferred

I am perhaps guilty of being overly sentimental. This month especially, I am prone to constant recollection of what we were doing this time last year. September 13 was especially significant. That date last year we were at NCCRM for transfer of three embryos to F. I remember feeling less than thrilled at this outcome. Happy after the stimulatory cycle from hell that we had that we made it to transfer but feeling less than confident after receiving the phone call that we needed to have transfer ASAP since out of 15 embryos only 4 had progressed to 8 cells by day 3 (we somehow managed to have 5 blasts frozen though).

I tried to stay hopeful and optimistic, but I feared it was all over. After leaving the clinic, J and I headed to our favorite Mexican restaurant for a belated celebration of my birthday (it’s our long-standing tradition). It was a bit subdued.

Eating Mexican at Los Tres Magueyes...I think I was even wearing that same shirt a year ago.

Eating Mexican at Los Tres Magueyes...I think I was even wearing that same shirt a year ago.


This year we again had a belated celebration of my birthday at the restaurant, and there were three of us along 🙂 Last year’s and this year’s visits were starkly contrasted, but I definitely prefer this year!

Daniel did well for most of the meal, but I think the noise and light bothered him because he became fussy about halfway through. He seemed to prefer being held to being in his car seat, so I held him for the rest of the time. He charmed our waitress, and she held him and chatted with him in Spanish. The only word we caught was “el guapo,” which apparently means handsome or ladies’ man LOL. In response, he grinned at her three times. Living up to it already!

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

