Delirious

Outside on the porch, enjoying the sunshine

Outside on the porch, enjoying the sunshine

Daniel is …wait for it, I have to pause for a while to do the simple math necessary to come up with the correct number because I am so tired…10 days old today. He is growing and filling out and letting us know this by deciding not to go to sleep in the middle of the night after his early morning feeding. Oy. This morning was particularly rough. I have the second shift (roughly 3am – 9am), so I was asleep around 11. I awoke to Daniel’s distinctive cry around 2:45 as J was changing his diaper. I dozed back off. Daniel was still crying. J went to bed, but neither of us could sleep because Daniel was sort of wheezing. It sounded like he had a belt loose. We got up and decided to use the bulb syringe to extract what mucus we could find. Well, Daniel was not amused and screamed. After that he was awake. We fed him. Still awake. I rocked him. Still awake. I put him to bed. Five minutes later, crying. Rinse and repeat until around 7am. I fed him one last time and THEN he decides he’s tired enough to go to sleep. He proceeds to sleep like an angel while I give up and decide to get up because we are expecting a guest at 10am, and I will need all the time I can have to wake up. Cue the copious amounts of caffeine.

Despite last night or this morning rather, Daniel is still such a sweet boy. He changes every day. He seems to have a more pronounced or developed double chin. His knees seem a little chubbier. His face is filling out. I can tell his lungs are getting stronger based on his cries. He keeps his eyes open for longer periods, and he focuses on us when we are feeding him. Speaking of feeding, he is up to 2 ounces at every feeding–sometimes more–but consistently around 2 ounces. At last Friday’s appointment, he had lost an expected 6 ounces from his birthweight but as of Tuesday, he has gained all of that back and then some: he now weighs 6 pounds, 8 ounces!

We moved the Pack N Play into our bedroom on Tuesday so we could begin to develop a routine. I’m not sure how well the routine-setting is going, but it does help us to feel able to nap when he sleeps. There’s something about having him in the living room that makes us feel like we’re up when we’re here.

Suffering from hiccups.  Do I detect an obscene gesture?

Suffering from hiccups. Do I detect an obscene gesture?

We had several visitors today, including the mobile vet for the kitties. That’s always fun 😉 Tomorrow Daniel will meet another set of grandparents (he has 4 sets), which will be fun! Daniel has big feet and long toes and fingers, and I wonder if he’s going to be tall like my side of the family. We shall see!

Today I left the house by myself for the first time since June 1. I didn’t do anything exciting. I ran to get some lunch for me and J and to Walgreens to pick up some baby essentials. It felt really weird to be out of the house and without Daniel, though. I think I need to get out more. J needs to install the carseat base into my car before he returns to work next week, and then Daniel and I will need to be brave and explore. Honestly, driving with him doesn’t freak me out; mastering the many parts of the car seat does!

Pardon my rambling. I am fairly delirious with no sleep. I’m hoping to nap soon and majorly envy my little boy for being able to sleep as much as he does (though I wish more of it would happen between midnight and 6am!)

One comment

  1. It was so great to see you guys today and meet baby Daniel!! Thanks for giving me some newborn snuggle time – he is an exemplary newborn 🙂

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

