A Few Pictures

Oooh, two posts in a week! I came home, exhausted, moaning and stressed about all the work I have to do to feel ready to be away from work for 12 weeks, my chaotic house and increasing level of panic and instead of focusing on the tasks at hand, I decided to procrastinate even more and post a few pics!

We had our appointment today, and it was pretty uneventful. We didn’t have a dilation check, but the heartbeat sounded good. I did NOT like the doctor we saw today. He seemed rushed and perfunctory. I asked a question and F chimed in, and I felt like his response sort of dismissed both of us. Humph. The OB practice we use is a large practice with lots of doctors, and he is the first one I’ve met that I did not like. Hopefully he will not be on call when we go into labor.

We had the baby care class last night, and not surprisingly, we were the only couple there who did not have a member sporting a big belly. It felt a tad weird, but if nothing else, the surrogacy process has accustomed me to feeling a little weird and different. J and I didn’t like the instructor. She started off badly when she glanced down at my stomach, leaned in and whispered, “Are you adopting?” “No, ” I whispered, “Surrogacy.” She smiled and said, “Oh, how wonderful!” I know she meant well, but something about her delivery made us wince and really made me feel like I stuck out like a sore thumb. It’s kind of amusing, though, because once people find out we are doing surrogacy, they very delicately ask if we will be in the delivery room and if we know what it is. Of course we do and yes, we will! I understand that surrogacy is uncharted territory for most people, but the consistency of the responses and the tone is humorous.

We did learn some stuff in class thankfully. I’ll never say I feel prepared, but I have an idea of what I need to do. I think. We’ll find out! Being a big reader, I have lots of books.

Yesterday was a big day not only because we reached 36 weeks but also because we received word that our PBO had been signed by the judge. That means that F and her husband no longer have any legal responsibility for WB and that we will officially be listed as his parents on the birth certificate! The PBO process had been a little frustrating for many reasons, and it had seemed to drag, but finally, everything worked out. Our big fear was that it wouldn’t be finalized before WB’s birth, so it is a huge relief to have it done.

My cousin L’s water broke at 1:30 this morning, and she and her husband journeyed to the hospital. This is the third of four boys due in my family with WB being the fourth. L’s labor hadn’t progressed much when I last had an update, and I hope she makes some progress soon. Her baby’s birth means that we are next!

Now for pics!

Lucy in the glider.  I have a feeling we're going to see a lot of this.

Lucy in the glider. I have a feeling we're going to see a lot of this.

New paint and glimpse of hardwoods in the master bedroom

New paint and glimpse of hardwoods in the master bedroom

Can't see it well, but the nursery color is a light apple green.

Can't see it well, but the nursery color is a light apple green.

Sweater that J's mom made for WB.  It is adorable!

Sweater that J's mom made for WB. It is adorable!

One comment

  1. Our cat LOVES the crib. We have to keep the door to the nursery closed when Sam’s not in it because he loves that thing so much! So I imagine you might be seeing some of that soon!
    I was so happy to see you last week! Glad you are doing so well and can’t wait to see you at your shower next weekend!

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

