33 Weeks!

J and the Crib

J and the Crib

Oooohhhh, two posts this week! Today actually. It’s due to my laziness.

Today we had our 33 week appointment. F is measuring perfectly and the heartbeat remains a beautiful sound. F says that WB is still incredibly active, and she is starting to enter the uncomfortable part of the third trimester. Her tummy has definitely popped. She looks adorable and all belly and baby LOL. After our appointment, we went out to lunch with F and her husband. We’ve been so busy with floor stuff that we have been fairly reclusive and tired and haven’t been able to get together with them like we would like. I really cannot stress enough how FAST this year has gone by. I’m still having trouble accepting that we are 33 weeks. OMG. We will likely have a baby in 5-6 weeks. JHC! Anyway, we had a great lunch with them, and we would have loved to stay longer, but work beckoned. We hoped that we would be able to feel WB move, but he did not cooperate. Stubborn like his daddy!

In other news, we now have a crib in our nursery. OMG. J and I put it together last weekend. Thankfully, it didn’t take us too long, but it was a little disconcerting emotionally. I admit to feeling a little superstitious about it, but we have to prepare. And it is such a beautiful crib!!! J and my stepfather will pick up the changing table/dresser on Saturday. Then the nursery decorating can begin!!! J hopes to have the crib bedding ready for me in the nursery when I return next Wednesday. We shall see! At least at that point I will have fewer obligations on which to focus since my attention is all baby, all the time right now.

I’m trying to arrange a tour of the birthing center for us. Our hospital is very good, but I’m surprised at the low-tech applications I have encountered so far. You submit a form and someone calls you. Okkkk.

Voila the crib!

Voila the crib!

I’ve been thinking a lot about what it will be like to have a baby, and I am getting so excited. That sounds a little ridiculous when I re-read that statement since we’ve been trying to have a baby for almost 4 years so you’d think at some point we would have thought about what it will be like to HAVE a baby. We have thought about it abstractly for years and sometimes tried NOT to think about it, but it is different thinking about it as a quickly-approaching reality. J and I know that it will be a lot of work and that everything will be different forever, but we are so ready and so full of anticipation. It has been helpful being able to hold a lot of young babies recently at various showers. My cousins thrust them at me with a “Here! Practice!” I thought my cousin’s four-month old was tiny but then I held my other cousin’s six-week-old. Tiny, tiny, tiny.

It’s been great being able to immerse myself in baby stuff. A coworker paid me a nice compliment recently when she told me that she had never seen me as relaxed and natural around kids as I was around her one-year old a few weeks ago. Being an only child, I found it awkward at times relating to babies and small children. And then once the infertility started, it was painful being around children, so I’m sure I seemed stiff. However, I love babies. I’ve always loved babies, and it feels so good being able to just let it out, enjoy small children and relate to them.

We still have a lot to do, but I am finally able to envison WB in our house. I cannot wait!

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

