Cruising Along

I’m typing this post while I watch the celebrities arrive for the Academy Awards. Um, where did time go? The Oscars already? J and I have seen only two films with nominations: Tropic Thunder and The Dark Knight I’m sort of embarrassed to admit. It was a busy year. My guess is that time will continue to pass quickly when WB arrives.

We are 25.5 weeks as of today and had our monthly OB appointment last Tuesday. We finally heard WB’s heartbeat. It was our first appointment without an ultrasound, so it was great to hear the heartbeat finally. I also have to express how PISSED I am that the long post I had typed out has apparently disappeared. Argh. F looks great–definitely pregnant! We scheduled a 3D/4D ultrasound for our next appointment. Shockingly, after that we will have appointments every two weeks until 36 weeks!

Baby things are starting to accumulate in the house. Friends K and E both gave us adorable outfits. K room me to BRU last weekend and took me through the whole store, sharing with me the wisdom she had gained as the mother of a 9 month old. I am very grateful since that tour demystified a lot of the baby gear BRU peddles. Our baby bedding arrived last week, and it is SO cute! I can’t wait to see it in the nursery.

I started our registry this weekend, and I was surprised at how overwhelming it is even though I am doing it online. There’s a lot of stuff out there. I thought I would finish it in an afternoon, but I think it will take me several afternoons.

J has made a lot of progress on the floors. As of tonight he had painted and installed the baseboards in the first room. I was even able to help! This means that in a few days we will be able to start ripping out the carpet in the nursery. Progress! Is that a tiny bit of light at the end of the tunnel I’m seeing? Maybe.

I’m almost reluctant to write it, but it means a lot to me to have reached and somewhat have passed the 25 week point. The third trimester is just around the corner. Everyone has been really wonderful and generous to us and honestly, it is a little weird for me. I don’t think I am so shocked that people are being good to us as I am that we have something to (potentially) celebrate. Still wrapping my head around that. A lot of relationships suffered while we were going through infertility. We’ve been trying to repair them, but I still feel guilty. I’m so happy that we still have people pulling for us and eagerly anticipating WB’s arrival.

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

