Still Here

I’m still here. It’s been a busy several weeks.  In NC, we had two more snow/ice events in March that led to time off from school or delayed starts.  It has been a crazy winter for NC. I haven’t seen precipitation like this for many years, and wintry weather as a parent is very different!

Work….we are going through another re-org.  It was a surprise to me. I didn’t see it coming, and I found out via Skype that my team was moving. The good news is that I really like my new boss, and my entire team moved with me. I think there is a lot of potential in my new group, so that is good.  At the same time, all of us on the second floor have moved downstairs.  The two people on my team are in cubicles and I am sharing an office with someone I didn’t meet until last Tuesday. I wasn’t thrilled to share an office, but it’s OK, and I like my new teammate. She has a MA in English, so I anticipate lots of great conversations :-) And I have to admit that the view from my new office is much better than the one I had in my previous office.

Daniel. Whew. We went through a rough month with him. He was obstinate, defiant, quick to rage, etc. both at home and school. I have read that the second half of age 4 can be rough, and we also think he might have been going through a growth spurt because he looks taller.  The last 2 weeks have been MUCH better thankfully. This is the stuff you don’t read about in parenting books!!!  Our next task is to figure out our plans for summer.  I’m a bit stunned that there are few options for the working mom in my area. Almost everything either ends early afternoon or isn’t all summer. Yay. And we might be switching to a different school for kindergarten, but we aren’t sure. Decisions, decisions.

Listen to Your Mother is moving along.  We’ll have our second read-through next weekend, and I’m starting to publish our cast profiles.  I’m stunned that our show is about 5 weeks away.  Where did the year go? And the next 5-6 weeks will be super busy for me and Jimmy. The good thing is that we go to the beach in June, and I’d be lying if I didn’t admit I am counting down the days.

I guess this post is to tell you that I’m alive, we’re all still here, and I still want to post. It’s just been crazy.  Good thing is that I’m finally wearing my contact lenses again although I’m on one more week of steroid eye drops. What a year!! ughhhhh. I have lots of things I want to say, but I haven’t been able to get them out. But yay for update.

What’s new and/or good in your world?

2 thoughts on “Still Here

  1. I could’ve written this (except the work thing…nothing really changed at my work). Man I thought 2.5 was tough. Then 3 was even tougher. 4 has been a bit of a breather…but now you are telling me 4.5 is even worse (we are a couple of months away)? .I’ll definitely need to stock up on the wine.

  2. Ok I have to put my thoughts on hold because your comment thing about your husband being able to tell when you haven’t had any conversation all day cracked me up!
    – Back. Sorry (still giggling though).
    So now I’m completely jealous that you have more than one read-through! As you read, I loved loved loved the read through we did for the DC show on Saturday night and now I wish we were having another. That’s awesome!

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

