Greetings from Hell…I mean Siberia…I mean North Carolina

SnOMG

SnOMG

Greetings from snowy North Carolina. No, you didn’t misread that.  My fair state is having another snow storm and this storm comes packing ice on top of snow.  In my area, we might see 6 inches of snow with a half-inch of ice on top before another couple inches of snow comes through tomorrow.  A half-inch of ice?  That could be catastrophic, to borrow the adjectives the forecasters have been using.  It really could be, though, because that’s the threshold at which branches snap and power lines buckle.  Fun times!

In this area, we have two winter weather events that make us catch our breath and say a prayer: the ice storm of 2002 (we lost power for 5 days) and the ice debacle of 2005 which resembled Atlanta’s situation a few weeks ago.  And we might have enough ice to recall 2002 and current traffic closely resembles 2005.

I’m glad my little family is at home.  We’ve been home all week actually.  Daniel appeared to be getting sick on Sunday but we kept our fingers crossed.  Monday, however, he was pale, lethargic, and warm.  He also threw up at the front door.  Home it was!  Yesterday his eyes started to take on on the tell-tale look of pink eye, so we stayed home and went to the doctor. Yep, pink eye. And Jimmy has it too. It also snowed a little bit yesterday.

This morning I woke up around 3 AM and had a scratchy throat. I currently feel like I’ve been hit over the head with a 2×4. Daniel’s school was closed today (good decision IMO) and it started snowing at 11:30 here. After 4 hours of heavy, big, fluffy flakes, the precipitation has transitioned to a mix of snow/freezing rain. Yay!

Again, we are home, snug and safe. We’ll “weather” whatever comes our way.  Keep your fingers crossed everyone feels better soon and that we don’t lose power. I might lose my mind.

Signing off from the frozen tundra known as North Carolina.

7 thoughts on “Greetings from Hell…I mean Siberia…I mean North Carolina

  1. Even when one is used to proper winter, with feet of snow and ice, and the dreaded black ice on the roads and the rest of the fun, winter can be a very painful experience. I can only imagine what it can do when nobody expects it to come full force. At least you’re at home and don’t have to deal with the traffic, right? Hope you’re feeling better soon. Sending you sunshine (no, not really, but I am thinking sunshine your way. Can you feel it already? No? My sunshine beamer must be broken. Darned snow.).

  2. I hope you all feel better soon! I’m trying to survive and get better too.
    You can send some of the snow my way. Finland is having a very strange not much snow winter this year. :(

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

