Oh Right. It Snowed.

It’s a recap of SnOMG14 only a little over a week late!  If you aren’t in NC or are in a part of NC that didn’t see much snow, my area was blessed with 4 inches of powdery, fluffy snow a week ago. And then the state shut down for 4 days. Not kidding. The schools in the neighboring county were out for 4 days. Those of you in snowier parts of the world, go ahead and get out your chuckles now. We went to sleep on Tuesday night with light snow falling and woke up to a winter wonderland (cue over-used cliche) on Wednesday.  Daniel was entranced by the snow, and if I had let him, he would have been out in the snow by 7 AM.  I managed to hold him off until 9:30.

The manor house in the snow

The manor house in the snow

This snow was his first decent snow since he was 18 months old, so he had a blast.  The only negative about the snow was that he wanted to build a snowman, but the snow was too powdery for that.  He still managed to fling lots of snow at me.

He really, really loved flinging snow at me

He really, really loved flinging snow at me

He made snow angels.

Little sweet snow angel

He slid down the slide into a snow pile he built from snow brought over from his dump truck.

snow3_2014

snow4_2014

I pulled him on the sled around the yard as he shouted, “Mush! Mush!” (no pictures of this because it is difficult to be a good sled dog and take pictures at the same time).

It was cold, but the sky was clear and the sun was out. We had a great 45 minutes outside….until he suddenly realized he was very, very cold and his hands and feet were very cold, wet and burning. See, we don’t have snow boots or water-proof gloves suitable for snow. This is the South! At his age, he’d likely outgrow anything we bought him before he had a chance to wear them in the snow, so we put on normal gloves and sneakers. I kept asking him if he were cold, but he always answered that he wasn’t. Mom FAIL because Daniel is 4! Did I really expect that he was going to reply, “Why, yes, mother.  I am cold.  These thin gloves and sneakers won’t keep my hands and feet dry and warm, so we should probably run along inside now.” No.  He was going to play until his body screamed at him.

It screamed at him, and he started crying.  We ripped off his clothes and got him in a warm shower, and I felt awful.  His hands were red and he was shivering.  We had stayed outside too long.  Lesson learned. Daniel soon warmed up and was dressed in warm PJs and had hot chocolate and pizza for lunch #MomGuilt.

We stayed out for a shorter period of time the second day.

***

The snow, while beautiful, also had its frustrations.  Jimmy officially works from home now, so he doesn’t get snow days.  That meant that I was 100% on Daniel duty.  It was like Jimmy was there but not there.  I tried to do a few conference calls but found it impossible.  Daniel would be playing by himself in another room, but his keen hearing had him running to me the moment he heard me log in for a conference call.  Then I couldn’t peel him off of me: “Mommy, who are you talking to? Mommy, can you come play with me? Mommy, what’s this? Mommy, can you open this?” Thank goodness for the mute button. On the phone, that is!

Let’s just say we all felt like caged animals in the house for a few days, and I was happy that Daniel’s school had a two-hour delay on Friday.  He wasn’t thrilled to get back to our routine, but I was.  I don’t mean to imply that I didn’t have fun or that I would have rather been at work (the horror!). It was just an adjustment.  We’re all still getting used to Jimmy working from home, and the snow really highlighted how some of our household processes had changed.

I think I’m done with snow for the season, however :-)

"Helping" me on my conference call

“Helping” me on my conference call

4 thoughts on “Oh Right. It Snowed.

  1. You know, I never take the time to enjoy the snow, even though we have it for so long. When it first comes, I am angry that it is here and that winter has started then it’s just bitter cold for 5 months and then I just am so sick of snow

Please Talk to Me: My Husband Can Tell When I Haven't Had Any Conversation All Day

